Electro

I’ve just got back from a mini-spending spree in Manchester. As usual, I didn’t intend to buy anything, but consumerism got the better of me. Amongst other things, I picked up a double CD of the Streets Sounds Definitive Electro and Hip Hop Collection for £3 in Fopp!… Bargain!! I used to collect these Electo mixes when I was about 11 or 12 and it really took me back to those days of exchanging 4 sweaty pound notes for a bit of wobbly vinyl full of drum machines, scratching and unlikely monikered rappers.

Besides the obvious big names, such as Grandmaster Flash, Herbie Hancock and Afrika Bamaataa, you get The Real Roxanne, UTFO, Egyptian Lover, The Packman and Full Force.

Worth 3 quid alone for the Hip Hop rendition of the Inspector Gadget theme!

This entry was posted in Afrika Bambaataa, Electro, Full Force, Grandmaster Flash, Herbie Hancock, Packman, The Real Roxanne. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

