Flute Trio Update

I’ve almost finished one of the movements of my Flute Trio for Expatrio. It’s been slow going so far, but I’m starting to come to terms with that particular instrumental grouping. I’ve been a bit shy about playing any of it to anyone so far, but I ran it by a trusted composer friend this morning and they gave me some really positive feedback about it.

What I am trying to do in this piece is incorporate what I have learnt working with electroacoustic composition into my instrumental writing and so far it seems to be working. The material of the first movement is derived from the partials produced by the flute when playing particular multiphonics. In this way, spectral elements of the flute define the material around which harmony and pitch relationships are based.

This entry was posted in Expatrio, Flute Trio. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

